Split pea soup

Split pea soup – I saw this recipe in an old issue of MSL I found in our gym, so I tore out the recipe and kept it.  I think it was last year’s February issue.  Turned out delicious.  Subs: forgot to buy more split peas at store, so used about 1/3-1/2 lb. split peas and threw in a can of butter beans and a can of northern beans at end.  Butter beans are really good, and I like how velvety they are.   My ham steak was more like 12-13 oz. than 7 (smallest I could find), and I subbed in 3 cups swanson’s chicken broth for part of the water.  Added no saltwhatsoever.  I ended up simmering it for the last hour or so in the oven – really hard to evenly simmer with the oval LC pot.  Added 2 cubes of parsley at end.  Oh, also I used some of my frozen fennel stalks and about a tbsp of fronds.  Ever so slight touch of fennel is nice.  OH!  Used my first bouquet garni for this recipe.  Mom bought me the bouquet bags last year and I had been meaning to use them since then.

Leave a comment